HEALTH AND SAFETY
MANUFACTURED HOMES — STANDARDS
39-4011. Violations. (1) Any person who violates any of the following provisions relating to manufactured homes, or any rule promulgated by the administrator of the division of occupational and professional licenses to administer the provisions of this chapter, shall be liable for a civil penalty of not to exceed one thousand dollars ($1,000) for each such violation. Each such violation shall constitute a separate violation with respect to each manufactured home, except that the maximum penalty shall not exceed one million dollars ($1,000,000) for any related series of violations occurring within one (1) year from the date of the first violation. Violations include:
(a) Manufacturing for sale, leasing, selling, offering for sale, or introducing or delivering or importing, in the state of Idaho, any manufactured home that is manufactured on or after the effective date of any applicable federal manufactured home construction and safety standard which does not comply with such standard;
(b) Failure or refusal to permit entry or inspection as required by section 39-4003A, Idaho Code;
(c) Failure of manufacturer to give notification of any defects in any manufactured home, in the manner required by 42 U.S.C. 5414;
(d) Failure to furnish to distributor or dealer at the time of delivery of each manufactured home produced by such manufacturer, certification that said manufactured home conforms to all applicable federal construction and safety standards or issuance of a certification to the effect that a manufactured home conforms to all applicable federal manufactured home construction and safety standards, if such person in the exercise of due care has reason to know that such certification is false or misleading in a material respect;
(e) Failure of any manufacturer, distributor or dealer of manufactured homes to establish and maintain such records, make such reports, and provide such information as the administrator of the division of occupational and professional licenses may reasonably require to enable him to determine whether such manufacturer, distributor or dealer has acted or is acting in compliance with this chapter and with federal manufactured home construction and safety standards; or failure to permit, upon request of a person duly designated by the administrator, inspection of appropriate books, papers, records and documents relative to determining whether such manufacturer, distributor or dealer has acted or is acting in compliance with federal manufactured home construction or safety standards.
(2) Any person or officer, director or agent of a corporation who willfully or knowingly violates the provisions enumerated in subsection (1)(a) through (e) of this section, in any manner which threatens the health or safety of any purchaser shall be fined not more than one thousand dollars ($1,000) or imprisoned for not more than one (1) year, or both.
(3) Violations of this chapter may be tried in any court of competent jurisdiction within the state of Idaho.
[39-4011, added 1978, ch. 118, sec. 2, p. 269; am. 1980, ch. 108, sec. 3, p. 246; am. 1988, ch. 264, sec. 12, p. 529; am. 1996, ch. 421, sec. 25, p. 1422; am. 2016, ch. 342, sec. 3, p. 969; am. 2023, ch. 15, sec. 7, p. 77.]