Idaho Statutes
pecnv.out

TITLE 39
HEALTH AND SAFETY
CHAPTER 70
SALE AND DISPOSAL OF BATTERIES
39-7003.  Sale of lead acid batteries — Fee — Notice. (1) A lead acid battery seller shall accept from customers at the point of transfer used lead acid batteries of the type and quantity sold at that point of transfer and may accept additional batteries. A lead acid battery seller shall post a written notice which is clearly visible in the public sales area of the establishment and which contains the following language:
"It is unlawful to dispose of a motor vehicle battery or other lead acid battery in a landfill or any unauthorized site.
               Recycle all used batteries."
The seller is required by law to accept used lead acid batteries. When any new lead acid battery is purchased, an additional fee of ten dollars ($10.00) will be charged unless a used battery is returned for refund within thirty (30) days.
(2)  Each person who purchases a new lead acid battery shall be assessed a fee of ten dollars ($10.00) per battery by the seller. A seller shall refund the ten dollar ($10.00) fee to any person who presents a used lead acid battery to the seller with a receipt for the purchase of a new battery from that seller within the thirty (30) day period immediately following the purchase. A seller may keep any lead acid battery fee moneys which are not properly claimed within thirty (30) days after the date of sale.
(3)  All lead acid batteries sold after July 1, 1992, shall bear a universally accepted recycling symbol.
(4)  An advertisement or other printed promotional material related to the sale of lead acid batteries shall contain the following notice in bold print:
"A fee is imposed on the purchase of each new lead acid battery unless a used battery is returned where applicable."
(5)  The provisions of this section do not apply to a person whose sales of batteries are not in the ordinary course of business.
(6)  A wholesale seller of lead acid batteries who sells batteries to this state, to a political subdivision of this state or to a private entity which resells the batteries is not subject to the fees in this chapter.
(7)  A person or entity who manufactures or sells equipment or vehicles, the final product of which includes a lead acid battery as a component part, is not subject to the fees in this chapter as long as the lead acid battery is attached to and is a component part of said equipment or vehicle.

History:
[39-7003, added 1991, ch. 292, sec. 1, p. 753; am. 2009, ch. 172, sec. 1, p. 550.]


How current is this law?

Search the Idaho Statutes and Constitution