Idaho Statutes
pecnv.out

TITLE 49
MOTOR VEHICLES
CHAPTER 4
MOTOR VEHICLE REGISTRATION
49-403B.  gold star — license plates. (1) In this section:
(a)  "Combat zone" means those locations involving a "period of war" as defined in 38 U.S.C. section 101(11) and such other locations and times as the division of veterans services may define by rule.
(b)  "Qualifying cause of death" means a death of a person due to hostile action while serving in the armed forces of the United States on active duty in a combat zone as the division of veterans services may define by rule.
(c)  "Qualifying family member" means the surviving spouse, parent, stepparent, child, stepchild, sibling, half-sibling, stepsibling, grandparent or legal guardian of a person who died due to a qualifying cause of death.
(2)  Qualifying family members are eligible to apply for gold star license plates. As proof of eligibility, the applicant shall furnish to the department a statement from the division of veterans services certifying eligibility.
(3)  The division of veterans services shall establish by rule the requirements for receipt of a certificate of eligibility including proof of qualifying familial relationship to the deceased service member and the death of the service member due to a qualifying cause of death.
(4)  No special plate program fee shall be charged in addition to regular registration or renewal of registration of a motor vehicle owned by the spouse, parent or stepparent of a service member who was killed during active military service in a combat zone and receiving gold star license plates.
(5)  A qualifying family member who is not the spouse, parent or stepparent shall be charged the regular registration fee and plate fee required in section 49-450, Idaho Code, and an additional fee of thirty-five dollars ($35.00) for the initial issuance of plates and twenty-five dollars ($25.00) upon each succeeding annual registration. Ten dollars ($10.00) of the initial fee and ten dollars ($10.00) of the renewal fee shall be deposited in the state highway account and shall be used to fund the cost of administration of this gold star license plate program. Twenty-five dollars ($25.00) of each initial fee and fifteen dollars ($15.00) of each renewal fee shall be deposited in the veterans support fund, section 65-209, Idaho Code, and shall be used to defray the costs of administration of the eligibility certification program and to provide programs to support veterans.
(6)  Gold star license plates shall be used only on a motor vehicle owned by the qualifying family member.
(7)  Whenever title or interest in a motor vehicle registered under this section is transferred or assigned, the registration shall expire, but the qualifying family member may transfer the gold star license plates to another motor vehicle upon payment of the required transfer fees. The qualifying family member may only display the gold star license plates after receipt of new registration from the department.
(8)  A qualifying family member shall not register more than two (2) motor vehicles under this section. This section shall not apply to any motor vehicle with a registered maximum gross weight over twenty-six thousand (26,000) pounds, nor to any vehicle registered under section 49-434(5), Idaho Code.
(9)  Gold star license plates may be retained and displayed on motor vehicles owned by the surviving spouse of a qualifying family member. In addition, the surviving spouse is eligible to reapply for and shall be issued gold star license plates if the deceased qualifying family member died on or after January 1 of the five (5) years preceding the date of reapplication for the gold star license plates. Such plates shall be used only on a motor vehicle owned by the surviving spouse of the qualifying family member.
(10) The gold star license plates shall be of a color and design acceptable to the veterans affairs commission and approved by the department, utilizing a numbering system as determined by the department. Gold star license plates shall not be subject to discontinuance pursuant to section 49-402C(6), Idaho Code.

History:
[49-403B, added 2009, ch. 213, sec. 1, p. 672.]


How current is this law?

Search the Idaho Statutes and Constitution