Idaho Statutes

Idaho Statutes are updated to the web July 1 following the legislative session.

pecnv.out

TITLE 54
PROFESSIONS, VOCATIONS, AND BUSINESSES
CHAPTER 9
DENTISTS
54-920.  Licensing — License fees — Biennial renewal of licenses — Late fees and returned checks — Classifications of licenses — Rights of licensees — Notification of change of address. (1) Each person determined by the board as qualified for licensure under this chapter shall pay the prescribed biennial license fee to the board prior to issuance of a license. Unless otherwise specified on a license, licenses issued by the board shall be effective for the biennial licensing period specified in this section. The biennial licensing period for dental and dental therapy licenses shall be a two (2) year period from October 1 of each even-numbered calendar year to September 30 of the next successive even-numbered calendar year. The biennial licensing period for dental hygiene licenses shall be a two (2) year period from April 1 of each odd-numbered calendar year to March 31 of the next successive odd-numbered calendar year. Unless otherwise specified on a license, any license issued during a biennial licensing period shall be effective until the beginning date of the next successive biennial licensing period and the board may prorate the amount of the license fee from the date of issuance of the license until the beginning date of the next applicable biennial licensing period at the discretion of the board. A license issued by the board shall expire unless renewed in the manner specified in this section.
(2)  The nonrefundable biennial license fees shall be fixed by the board, but shall not exceed the following amounts:
(a)  Four hundred dollars ($400) for a dentist with an active status;
(b)  Two hundred dollars ($200) for a dentist with an inactive status;
(c)  Three hundred dollars ($300) for a dental therapist with an active status;
(d)  One hundred fifty dollars ($150) for a dental therapist with an inactive status;
(e)  Two hundred twenty dollars ($220) for a dental hygienist with an active status;
(f)  One hundred twelve dollars ($112) for a dental hygienist with an inactive status; or
(g)  Four hundred dollars ($400) for a dentist with a specialist status.
(3)  A license issued by the board shall be renewed as prescribed in this section. Prior to the expiration of the effective period of a license, the board shall provide notice of renewal to the licensee’s address of record on file with the board. To renew a dental license, each licensee shall submit a properly completed renewal application and the appropriate biennial license fee to the board prior to September 30 of every even-numbered calendar year. To renew a dental hygiene license, each licensee shall submit a properly completed renewal application and the appropriate biennial license fee to the board prior to March 31 of each odd-numbered calendar year. Each licensee determined by the board as qualified for renewal of a license shall be issued a license for the applicable biennial licensing period.
(4)  Failure to timely submit a complete renewal application and license fee shall result in expiration of the license and termination of the licensee’s right to practice. Failure to submit a complete renewal application, license fee and fifty dollar ($50.00) late fee within thirty (30) days of expiration of the license shall result in cancellation of the license.
(5)  Any person who delivers a check or other payment to the board that is returned to the board unpaid by the financial institution upon which it was drawn shall pay to the board as an administrative cost, in addition to any other amount owing, the amount of fifty dollars ($50.00). Following notification by the board of the returned check or other payment, the person shall make payment of all moneys owing to the board by certified check or money order within thirty (30) days of the date of notification. A failure to submit the necessary remittance within the thirty (30) day period may result in the expiration of a license or constitute grounds for the board to deny, cancel, suspend or revoke a license.
(6)  The board of dentistry may issue different classes of licenses as defined in this subsection.
(a)  The term "license with active status" means a license issued by the board to a qualified person who is authorized to practice dentistry, dental therapy, or dental hygiene in the state of Idaho.
(b)  The term "license with an inactive status" means a license issued by the board to a qualified person who is not authorized to be an active practitioner of dentistry, dental therapy, or dental hygiene in the state of Idaho. A person issued a license with an inactive status is not entitled to practice dentistry, dental therapy, or dental hygiene in the state of Idaho.
(c)  The terms "license with special status" and "license with provisional status" mean licenses issued by the board to a qualified person on a provisional, conditional, restricted or limited basis under the terms of which the licensee is authorized to practice dentistry, dental therapy, or dental hygiene in the state of Idaho subject to conditions, limitations and requirements imposed by the board. The conditions, limitations and requirements imposed by the board may include, but are not limited to, a limitation on the effective period of the license, a requirement that specific conditions must be fulfilled in order for the license to remain effective, a requirement that specified education, examinations and skills testing be successfully completed during the effective period of the license, a restriction on the scope of permissible services that the licensee is authorized to perform, a restriction on the type of patients for whom treatment may be rendered and a restriction on the locations at which the licensee can perform authorized services.
(7)  (a) The board may issue a license with active status to any qualified applicant or qualified licensee who is authorized to practice dentistry, dental therapy, or dental hygiene in the state of Idaho. Renewal of a license with active status requires compliance with requirements specified in rule.
(b)  The board may issue a license with inactive status to any qualified applicant or qualified licensee who fulfilled the licensure requirements but does not practice in the state of Idaho. Renewal of a license with inactive status requires compliance with requirements specified in rule.
(c)  The board may issue a license with provisional status or special status to any person who fulfills, or substantially fulfills, the applicable licensure requirements when the board, acting in its discretion, determined that special circumstances existed which, for the protection of the public health, safety and welfare, required that specific conditions, restrictions or limitations be imposed on the license. A license with special status or provisional status entitles the holder thereof to practice dentistry, dental therapy, or dental hygiene in the state of Idaho subject to the conditions, restrictions and limitations specifically determined by the board and for the period of time prescribed. A provisional license is effective for the period specified by the board and may not be renewed. The board shall develop rules to include definitions, application and renewal requirements, limitations of practice and other conditions regarding provisional and special status licenses.
(d)  The board may convert a license with inactive status to a license with active status in the event the holder pays the license fee prescribed for licenses with active status and submits to the board satisfactory evidence of:
(i)   Compliance with the requirements of this chapter and all rules promulgated under the provisions of this chapter;
(ii)  Good moral character and good professional conduct; and
(iii) Completion of accumulated continuing education as required of a license with uninterrupted active status.
(e)  Persons unable to otherwise fully meet the requirements for conversion of an inactive status license to an active status license must apply as a first-time applicant.
(8)  Each person licensed under this chapter shall notify the board in writing of any change in the person’s name or address of record within thirty (30) days after the change has taken place.

History:
[54-920, added 1981, ch. 215, sec. 9, p. 394; am. 1986, ch. 35, sec. 6, p. 113; am. 1987, ch. 30, sec. 8, p. 42; am. 1990, ch. 425, sec. 3, p. 1176; am. 1991, ch. 15, sec. 3, p. 33; am. 1991, ch. 147, sec. 9, p. 353; am. 1994, ch. 58, sec. 20, p. 110; am. 2006, ch. 285, sec. 5, p. 875.; am. 2014, ch. 121, sec. 7, p. 347; am. 2015, ch. 56, sec. 1, p. 147; am. 2017, ch. 57, sec. 1, p. 88; am. 2019, ch. 221, sec. 11, p. 675.]


How current is this law?

Search the Idaho Statutes and Constitution