Idaho Statutes
pecnv.out

TITLE 72
WORKER’S COMPENSATION AND RELATED LAWS — INDUSTRIAL COMMISSION
CHAPTER 5
INDUSTRIAL COMMISSION
72-523.  Source of fund — Premium tax. The state insurance fund, every authorized self-insurer and every surety authorized under the Idaho insurance code or by the director of the department of insurance to transact worker’s compensation insurance in Idaho, in addition to all other payments required by statute, shall semiannually, within thirty (30) days after February 1 and July 1 of each year, pay into the state treasury to be deposited in the industrial administration fund a premium tax as follows:
(1)  Commencing January 1, 2016, every surety, other than self-insurers authorized to transact worker’s compensation insurance, a sum equal to two percent (2%) of the net premiums written by each respectively on worker’s compensation insurance in this state during the preceding six (6) months’ period, but in no case less than seventy-five dollars ($75.00);
(2)  Each self-insurer, a sum equal to two percent (2%) of the amount of premium such employer who is a self-insurer would be required to pay as premium to the state insurance fund, but in no case less than seventy-five dollars ($75.00);
(3)  Notwithstanding the provisions of subsections (1) and (2) of this section, for the period January 1, 2012, through December 31, 2015:
(a)  Every surety, other than self-insurers authorized to transact worker’s compensation insurance, a sum equal to two percent (2%) of the net premiums written by each respectively on worker’s compensation insurance in this state during the preceding six (6) months’ period, but in no case less than seventy-five dollars ($75.00); and
(b)  Each self-insurer, a sum equal to two percent (2%) of the amount of premium such employer who is a self-insurer would be required to pay as premium to the state insurance fund, but in no case less than seventy-five dollars ($75.00).
(4)  Any insurer making any payment into the industrial administration fund under the provisions of subsection (1) of this section or, during the period January 1, 2012, through December 31, 2015, any insurer making any payment into the industrial administration fund under the provisions of subsection (3) of this section, shall be entitled to deduct fifty percent (50%) of the premium tax paid pursuant to this section from any sum that it is required to pay into the department of insurance as a tax on worker’s compensation premiums.
(5)  In arriving at net premiums written, dividends paid, declared or payable shall not be deducted.
(6)  For the purposes of this section and section 72-524, Idaho Code, net premiums written shall mean the amount of gross direct premiums written, less returned premiums and premiums on policies not taken.

History:
[72-523, added 1971, ch. 124, sec. 3, p. 422; am. 1974, ch. 132, sec. 8, p. 1329; am. 1978, ch. 264, sec. 16, p. 586; am. 1984, ch. 90, sec. 1, p. 189; am. 1990, ch. 253, sec. 1, p. 725; am. 1993, ch. 202, sec. 1, p. 556; am. 2011, ch. 267, sec. 1, p. 727; am. 2013, ch. 254, sec. 1, p. 628; am. 2015, ch. 332, sec. 1, p. 1259.]


How current is this law?

Search the Idaho Statutes and Constitution