CRIMES AND PUNISHMENTS
HIGHWAYS AND BRIDGES
18-3906. Placing debris on highways. (1) It shall constitute an infraction for any person to throw from any vehicle, place, deposit or permit to be deposited upon or alongside of any highway, street, alley or easement used by the public for public travel, any debris, paper, litter, glass bottles, glass, nails, tacks, hooks, hoops, cans, barbed wire, boards, trash or garbage, lighted material, or other waste substance, and is punishable by a fine of one hundred fifty dollars ($150). A second conviction under this section within two (2) years of the commission of the prior offense for which the person was convicted shall constitute an infraction and be punishable by a fine not exceeding three hundred dollars ($300). A third conviction under this section within three (3) years of the first offense for which the person was convicted shall constitute a misdemeanor and be punishable by a fine not exceeding one thousand dollars ($1,000) and by imprisonment in the county jail not exceeding thirty (30) days. For the purposes of this section, the terms "highway," "street," "alley" or "easement" shall be construed to include the entire right-of-way of such highway, street, alley or easement. The Idaho transportation department is directed to post along state highways, at convenient and appropriate places, notices of the context of said law.
(2) Notwithstanding the provisions of section 19-4705, Idaho Code, the court may order that fifty dollars ($50.00) of the fine imposed under the provisions of this section be paid by the defendant to the person or persons, other than the officer making the arrest, who, in the judgment of the court, provided information that led directly to the arrest and conviction of the defendant.
(3) It shall constitute a misdemeanor for any person to willfully throw, deposit, or place, or to lose and willfully leave upon or alongside of any highway or street used by the public for public travel, any debris, substance, object or material that impedes traffic or creates a hazardous driving condition, and is punishable by a fine not exceeding two thousand five hundred dollars ($2,500) or by imprisonment in the county jail not exceeding six (6) months, or by both.
[18-3906, added 1972, ch. 336, sec. 1, p. 925; am. 1974, ch. 12, sec. 86, p. 61; am. 1986, ch. 298, sec. 1, p. 747; am. 2015, ch. 177, sec. 1, p. 578; am. 2015, ch. 183, sec. 1, p. 587.]