AGRICULTURE AND HORTICULTURE
SEED INDEMNITY FUND LAW
22-5103. Licenses. (1) Prior to beginning operation, a person intending to operate as a seed buyer shall first procure a license from the department. Each license issued pursuant to this chapter shall be issued for a period of one (1) year and the license or legible copy thereof shall be prominently displayed in each place of business.
(2) A seed facility endorsement showing the location of each seed facility in Idaho shall be attached to the seed buyer’s license.
(3) The department is authorized to issue or renew a seed buyer license in accordance with this chapter, and the rules promulgated by the department provided each applicant meets the following conditions:
(a) Pay an application fee of up to five hundred dollars ($500) pursuant to criteria established by rule, with the exception of those persons holding a license issued pursuant to chapter 4, title 22, Idaho Code;
(b) Submit a completed application form provided by the department, with required exhibits. The application shall include:
(i) The name of the applicant;
(ii) The names of the officers and directors if the applicant is a corporation or association;
(iii) The names of the partners if the applicant is a partnership or a limited liability company;
(iv) The location of the principal place of business;
(v) Information relating to any judgment against the applicants; and
(vi) Any other reasonable information the department finds necessary to carry out the provisions and purposes of this chapter.
(c) Provide a sufficient and valid bond as required by this chapter;
(d) Provide a current, sufficient policy of insurance covering losses as required by this chapter;
(e) Provide the location of its seed facilities in Idaho;
(f) Provide a written schedule of conditioning, bagging and testing charges;
(g) Have on file a test report pursuant to sections 71-113 and 71-117, Idaho Code, from the Idaho state department of agriculture bureau of weights and measures showing approved status for any scales used for weighing received seed crops and any scales used for weighing clean weight of seed crops; and
(h) Provide with the initial license application an audited or reviewed financial statement prepared by an independent certified public accountant or licensed public accountant showing that the applicant has and does maintain a balance sheet with current assets not less than current liabilities, a statement of profit or loss, a statement of net worth and a statement of cash flows, all of which have been prepared according to generally accepted accounting principles not more than twelve (12) months prior to the date of the initial license application and additional financial information as determined by the director.
(4) All fees collected, pursuant to this chapter, for license application and renewal shall be deposited in the seed indemnity fund.
(5) All materials required for renewal of a license shall be received by the department prior to the expiration date of the current license. A license which has expired may be reinstated by the department upon receipt of all necessary licensing materials required by the provisions of this chapter and a reinstatement fee in an amount up to one thousand dollars ($1,000) pursuant to criteria established by rule, providing that this material is filed within thirty (30) days from the date of expiration of the current license.
(6) A delivery of seed crop between producers, none of whom are seed buyers, shall be exempt from the provisions of this chapter.
[22-5103, added 2002, ch. 256, sec. 1, p. 738; am. 2010, ch. 100, sec. 2, p. 194.]