STATE BRAND BOARD
25-1122. Ownership and transportation certificate. (1) The owner or owners of any horses, mules or asses desiring to transport them within the state for any purpose other than sale or trade, may, upon request to the state brand inspector, be issued an ownership and transportation certificate, which certificate shall be issued in lieu of the required brand inspection certificate or other written permit for each horse, mule or ass to be transported.
(2) An ownership and transportation certificate may be used by the owner or owners of a horse, mule or ass for identification purposes and as prima facie proof of ownership of any animal described by such a certificate.
(3) The ownership and transportation certificate shall be valid as long as the horse, mule or ass described therein remains under the ownership of the person or persons to whom the certificate is issued.
(4) The ownership and transportation certificate of a horse, mule or ass must accompany the animal for which it is issued at all times while the animal is in transit.
(5) Each ownership and transportation certificate of a horse, mule or ass shall identify the particular animal by color, markings, sex, age and, where applicable, by brand, registration number, tattoo or other marks as provided for by regulation of the state brand board.
(6) There shall be a fee in an amount to be set by the state brand board, not to exceed seventy-five dollars ($75.00), for issuance of each ownership and transportation certificate, which fee shall be in addition to any brand inspection certificate or other written permit which may be requested by the owner or owners of a horse, mule or ass under other provisions of law.
(7) Upon any change of ownership of a horse, mule or ass for which an ownership and transportation certificate has been issued, the former owner or owners may transfer the certificate to the new owner or owners upon payment of a fee to be set by the state brand board, not to exceed seventy-five dollars ($75.00) per certificate.
(8) The state brand board may, under such terms and conditions as it deems necessary to protect ownership of horses, mules and asses, provide by regulation that ownership and transportation certificates may be used in transportation of horses, mules or asses to and from points outside of the state of Idaho, and may provide that similar certificates from other states may be used for proof of ownership of horses, mules or asses entering Idaho.
[(25-1122) I.C., 24-1402A, as added by 1975, ch. 23, sec. 3, p. 36; am. 1987, ch. 61, sec. 6, p. 111; am. 1988 & redesignated 25-1122, ch. 75, sec. 14, p. 119; am. 2011, ch. 55, sec. 1, p. 119; am. 2019, ch. 157, sec. 1, p. 509.]