IDAHO COMMERCIAL FEED LAW
25-2704. Registration. (1) Each commercial feed except customer-formula feed shall be registered annually by the person who manufactures or distributes feed into or within the state of Idaho before being offered for sale, sold, or otherwise distributed in or into this state. It is the responsibility of each manufacturer or distributor of a commercial feed to ensure that those commercial feeds being distributed into or within the state of Idaho are properly registered by the manufacturer or distributor prior to distribution.
(2) The application for registration shall be submitted to the director on forms furnished by the department of agriculture, and shall be accompanied by a nonrefundable fee established by the director in rule not to exceed one hundred dollars ($100).
(3) The application for registration shall also be accompanied by a label describing the product, unless such label has not been altered since the last registration of the product. A label shall continue in effect unless it is canceled or changed by the registrant or unless canceled by the department of agriculture pursuant to subsection (7) of this section. The department may review a label at any time during the registration year, regardless of registration status, for compliance with this act. Should the department find that a label is not in compliance with this act after registration has been issued, the department may cancel registration of the product. Provided however, that no registration shall be canceled until the registrant shall have been given opportunity to amend the label within thirty (30) days of receipt of notice of intent to refuse or cancel registration in order to comply with the requirements of this chapter, or be given notice and opportunity for a hearing pursuant to the provisions of chapter 52, title 67, Idaho Code.
(4) All fees paid to the department of agriculture provided for in this section shall be paid to the state treasury, and placed in the commercial feed and fertilizer fund. Upon approval by the director a copy of the registration shall be furnished to the applicant. All registrations expire on September 30 of each year. If an application for registration renewal provided for in this section is not postmarked before November 1 of any one (1) year, a penalty of ten dollars ($10.00) per product shall be assessed and added to the original fee and shall be paid by the applicant before the renewal registration is issued.
(5) A distributor shall not be required to register any commercial feed which is already registered under the provisions of this chapter by another person provided the commercial feed is distributed in its original package or container or, if the commercial feed is distributed in bulk, the integrity of the original product is maintained and labeled with the registrant’s original label or a copy of the registrant’s original label.
(6) Changes in the guarantee of either chemical or ingredient composition of a commercial feed may be permitted provided satisfactory evidence is submitted showing that such changes would not result in a lowering of the feeding value of the product for the purpose for which designed.
(7) The director is empowered to refuse registration of any application not in compliance with all provisions of this chapter and to cancel any registration when it is subsequently found to be in violation of any provision of this chapter or when the director has satisfactory evidence that the registrant has used fraudulent or deceptive practices in attempted evasion of the provisions of this chapter or rules thereunder.
Provided, however, that no registration shall be refused or canceled until the registrant shall have been given opportunity to amend their application within thirty (30) days of receipt of notice of intent to refuse or cancel registration in order to comply with the requirements of this chapter or be given notice and opportunity for a hearing pursuant to the Idaho administrative procedure act, chapter 52, title 67, Idaho Code.
(8) If a product is found being offered for sale, sold, or otherwise distributed into or within Idaho prior to registration, the department is authorized to assess a penalty of twenty-five dollars ($25.00) on each product in addition to the annual registration fee as provided in this section.
[(25-2704) 25-2718, added 1953, ch. 243, sec. 4, p. 366; am. 1955, ch. 251, sec. 1, p. 559; am. 1971, ch. 343, sec. 2, p. 1335; am. 1974, ch. 50, sec. 1, p. 1103; am. 1993, ch. 12, sec. 2, p. 40; am. and redesig. 2006, ch. 57, sec. 4, p. 171; am. 2012, ch. 89, sec. 2, p. 248.]