SELF-FUNDED HEALTH CARE PLANS
41-4003. Registration required — Exemptions — Not subject to insurance code. (1) No person shall offer or operate a self-funded plan in this state unless the plan is registered with the director as hereinafter provided.
(2) No registration shall be required of:
(a) Any self-funded plan established for the sole purpose of funding the dollar amount of a deductible clause contained in the provisions of an insurance contract issued by an insurer duly authorized to transact disability insurance in this state if the deductible does not exceed an amount applicable to each beneficiary of five thousand dollars ($5,000) per annum and the total of all obligations to all beneficiaries insured under the plan arising out of the application of such a deductible does not exceed the aggregate amount of five hundred thousand dollars ($500,000) in any one (1) year.
(b) Any plan established and maintained for the purpose of complying with any worker’s compensation law or unemployment compensation disability insurance law.
(c) Any plan administered by or for the federal government, a federal agency, the state, or any county of this state.
(d) Any plan which is primarily for the purpose of providing first aid care and treatment by an employer for injury or sickness of employees while engaged in their employment.
(e) Any self-funded plan offering only dental and/or vision benefits, where such benefits are limited to no more than a total of five thousand dollars ($5,000) per beneficiary per year. If self-funded dental and/or vision benefits are offered in conjunction with any other self-funded plan for disability or health benefits, the entire benefits are subject to all applicable provisions of chapter 40, title 41, Idaho Code, including registration.
(3) Plans that are registered under chapter 40, title 41, Idaho Code, shall not be deemed to be engaged in the business of insurance and shall not be subject to provisions of the Idaho insurance code except as expressly provided in this chapter. A plan required to register with the department that operates in this state without registering under this chapter shall be deemed to be engaged in the business of insurance without authorization and any person offering or operating an unregistered plan shall be deemed to be transacting insurance without proper licensing and subject to all sanctions as provided by law.
(4) Any self-funded plan providing benefits to more than one (1) employer shall provide to each employer participant and to each prospective employer participant written notice that the plan is not insurance and does not participate in the Idaho life and health guaranty association. Any self-funded plan providing benefits to students of a postsecondary educational institution shall provide to each student participant and to each prospective student participant written notice that the plan is not insurance and does not participate in the Idaho life and health guaranty association. The notice shall also be included as part of all marketing materials used by or on behalf of the plan.
(5) Any plan registered as a single employer plan or as a multiple employer welfare plan shall not operate as or be registered as a postsecondary educational institution student health benefit plan. Any plan registered as a postsecondary educational institution student health benefit plan shall not operate as or be registered as a single employer plan or as a multiple employer welfare plan.
[41-4003, added 1974, ch. 248, sec. 3, p. 1624; am. 2001, ch. 308, sec. 1, p. 1114; am. 2004, ch. 86, sec. 1, p. 321; am. 2006, ch. 414, sec. 3, p. 1259; am. 2013, ch. 181, sec. 3, p. 421; am. 2019, ch. 306, sec. 1, p. 915.]