Print Friendly

     Idaho Statutes

Idaho Statutes are updated to the website July 1 following the legislative session.


49-1422.  Overtaking and passing school bus. (1) The driver of a vehicle meeting or overtaking from either direction any school bus stopped on the highway shall stop before reaching the school bus when there is in operation on a school bus the visual signals specified in section 49-915, Idaho Code, and the driver of a vehicle shall not proceed until the school bus resumes motion or the visual signals are no longer actuated. Oncoming traffic on a highway of more than three (3) lanes is not required to stop upon meeting a school bus when visual signals are actuated. Any person found guilty of violating the provisions of this subsection for the first time shall be guilty of an infraction punishable by a fine of three hundred dollars ($300). A person convicted of a second offense or any subsequent offense under this subsection within five (5) years shall be guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of no less than six hundred dollars ($600) or more than one thousand dollars ($1,000), or by imprisonment in the county jail not exceeding six (6) months, or by both such fine and imprisonment. The department shall notify any person convicted of a violation of this section of the penalties that may be imposed for a second conviction and any subsequent conviction. Notwithstanding the provisions of section 19-4705, Idaho Code, the fines imposed under this subsection in excess of one hundred dollars ($100) shall be paid into the school bus camera fund, which is hereby created in the state treasury. Moneys in the fund may be appropriated only for the purpose of school bus stop arm software, equipment, and training to enforce the provisions of this section. Administration of the school bus camera fund shall be overseen by the state department of education.
(2)  Every school bus shall be equipped with visual signals meeting the requirements of section 49-915, Idaho Code, which shall be actuated by the driver of the school bus whenever, but only whenever, the vehicle is stopped on the highway for the purpose of receiving or discharging school children. A school bus driver shall not actuate the special visual signals:
(a)  In business districts designated by the department or local authorities;
(b)  At intersections or other places where traffic is controlled by traffic control signals or peace officers; or
(c)  In designated school bus loading areas where the bus is entirely off the roadway.
(3)  Every school bus shall bear upon the front and rear plainly visible signs containing the words "SCHOOL BUS" in letters not less than eight (8) inches in height. When a school bus is being operated upon a highway for purposes other than the actual transportation of children either to or from school, all markings thereon indicating "school bus" shall be covered or concealed.
(4)  When any school bus is sold and is no longer to be used for the transportation of pupils, before it may again be used on the highways of this state, it shall be painted a color other than national school bus glossy yellow, federal standard 595a, color number 13432, and all school bus markings shall be obliterated.

[49-1422, added 1988, ch. 265, sec. 358, p. 751; am. 2014, ch. 69, sec. 1, p. 176; am. 2019, ch. 236, sec. 1, p. 722; am. 2024, ch. 190, sec. 1, p. 686.]

How current is this law?