Idaho Statutes

Idaho Statutes are updated to the web July 1 following the legislative session.

pecnv.out

TITLE 49
MOTOR VEHICLES
CHAPTER 16
DEALERS AND SALESMEN LICENSING
49-1607.  Fees — Funds — Expenses — Expiration of licenses. (1) The department shall collect with each application for licensure the following fees:
(a)  Dealer’s, wholesale dealer’s and vehicle manufacturer’s license, initial application, two hundred dollars ($200). Ten dollars ($10.00) of such fee shall be either retained by the department or authorized agent, if collected and processed by the department or authorized agent, or deposited in the county current expense fund. Renewal application, one hundred seventy-five dollars ($175).
(b)  Vehicle salesman’s license, thirty-six dollars ($36.00). Ten dollars ($10.00) of such fee shall be either retained by the department or authorized agent, if collected and processed by the department or authorized agent, or deposited in the county current expense fund.
(c)  Distributor-factory branch-distributor branch license, one hundred seventy-five dollars ($175).
(d)  Representative’s license, forty-four dollars ($44.00).
(e)  To reissue a license, salesman and dealer identification cards or other licensing documents at a dealer’s request, not resulting from an error by the department, a fee of eighteen dollars ($18.00) per document.
(f)  Supplemental lot license or relocated principal place of business, and temporary supplemental lot, forty-four dollars ($44.00) for license issued to a single dealer. A fee of eighty-eight dollars ($88.00) for a license issued to a group of dealers for a temporary supplemental lot.
(2)  All fees shall be paid over to the state treasurer for credit to the state highway account, out of which shall be paid the expenses of the department and the expenses incurred in enforcing the provisions of this chapter.
(3)  Dealer licenses, if not suspended or revoked, may be renewed from year to year upon the payment of the fees specified in this section to accompany applications, and renewals shall be made in accordance with the provisions of section 49-1634, Idaho Code.
(a)  There shall be twelve (12) licensing periods, starting with January and ending in December. A dealer’s license shall be in effect from the month of initial licensing through the last day of the next year’s calendar month that precedes the month of the initial licensing.
(b)  Any renewal license application received or postmarked after thirty (30) days from the end of the previous year’s license period shall be processed as an initial application and initial fees shall be paid.
(4)  Salesman licenses, if not suspended or revoked, shall be valid for three (3) years from the date of issue and may be renewed upon application and payment of the fees specified in this section provided that:
(a)  Employment remains with the sponsoring dealership; and
(b)  The sponsoring dealership has a valid license issued by the department.

History:
[49-1607, added 1988, ch. 265, sec. 380, p. 765; am. 1991, ch. 272, sec. 9, p. 698; am. 1993, ch. 297, sec. 1, p. 1095; am. 1998, ch. 392, sec. 21, p. 1227; am. 2009, ch. 331, sec. 7, p. 958; am. 2020, ch. 37, sec. 1, p. 73.]


How current is this law?

Search the Idaho Statutes and Constitution