Idaho Statutes
pecnv.out

TITLE 49
MOTOR VEHICLES
CHAPTER 16
DEALERS AND SALESMEN LICENSING
49-1637.  Education requirements for vehicle dealers. (1) Except as provided in subsection (2) of this section, the following continuing education requirements shall apply to a vehicle dealer for an initial dealer’s license and for the annual renewal, as provided in sections 49-1607(3) and 49-1634, Idaho Code, of a dealer’s license:
(a)  An applicant for an annual renewal of a dealer’s license must complete a four (4) hour education program as described in subsection (3) of this section prior to submitting a renewal application for a vehicle or vessel dealer license.
(b)  An applicant requesting an initial vehicle or vessel dealer’s license shall be required to provide certification that he has completed a department approved prelicensing class or program, including an examination on the materials that were presented prior to submitting a license application.
(2)  The education requirements of subsection (1) of this section do not apply to an applicant for a full-time or part-time vehicle salesman’s license, manufacturer’s license or distributor’s license. The following applicants are also exempt from the provisions of subsection (1) of this section:
(a)  A vehicle dealer of nationally advertised and recognized new motor vehicles or vessels; and
(b)  A franchise dealer of new recreational vehicles, new motorcycles, new all-terrain vehicles, new snowmobiles or new vessels.
(3)  The continuing education programs and prelicensing class requirements required in subsection (1) of this section shall be developed with input from motor vehicle industry organizations including, but not limited to, the Idaho independent automobile dealers association, and shall be approved by the department:
(a) Prelicensing classes shall consist of eight (8) hours of instruction or as otherwise approved by the department, which shall include the written examination.
(b) Fees applicable to the prelicensing class shall not exceed three hundred fifty dollars ($350).
(c) Fees applicable to the dealer education program shall not exceed two hundred dollars ($200).
(d) Any provider as approved by the department shall make the dealer education programs and prelicensing classes available on a monthly basis, at a minimum.
(4)  The continuing education programs and the prelicensing class/programs required in subsection (1) of this section may be provided by accredited educational institutions, private vocational schools, correspondence schools or trade associations, provided that the continuing education program and prelicensing class/programs have been approved by the department as required in subsection (3) of this section.
(5)  The department may promulgate rules as necessary to implement the provisions of this section.

History:
[49-1637, added 2003, ch. 98, sec. 2, p. 317; am. 2010, ch. 329, sec. 2, p. 874; am. 2013, ch. 93, sec. 1, p. 229.]


How current is this law?

Search the Idaho Statutes and Constitution