2009 Legislation
Print Friendly


The status of each bill, resolution, proclamation, and memorial is updated when the offices of the Secretary of the Senate and the Chief Clerk of the House publish the un-official daily journals and should not be deemed official. The official bill actions are located in the final journal, which are maintained by the offices of the Secretary of the Senate and the Chief Clerk of the House.  The daily journals are published at the end of each legislative day.

Full Bill Information

Individual Links:

COMMISSION FOR REAPPORTIONMENT – Amends existing law relating to the Commission for Reapportionment to provide that a person who has served on a Commission for Reapportionment shall be precluded from serving on a future Commission for Reapportionment unless the commission is reconstituted because a court of competent jurisdiction has invalidated a plan of the commission and the commission is required to meet to complete a future reapportionment or redistricting plan and to clarify the date of application on the limitation; and to revise criteria for reapportionment or redistricting plans.
  04/02 Introduced; read first time; referred to JR for Printing  
  04/03 Reported Printed; referred to State Affairs  
  04/13 Reported out of Committee with Do Pass Recommendation; Filed for second reading  
  04/14 Rules Suspended (2/3 Vote - Read in full as required) – PASSED - 30-5-0
AYES – Andreason, Bair, Bilyeu, Brackett, Broadsword, Cameron, Coiner, Corder, Darrington, Davis, Fulcher, Geddes, Goedde, Hammond, Heinrich, Hill, Jorgenson, Keough, Lodge, McGee, McKague, McKenzie, Mortimer, Pearce, Sagness(Malepeai), Schroeder, Siddoway, Smyser, Stegner, Winder
NAYS – Bock, Kelly, LeFavour, Thorson(Stennett), Werk
Absent and excused – None
Floor Sponsor - Geddes
Title apvd - to House
  04/15 Received from the Senate, Filed for First Reading  
  Read First Time, Referred to State Affairs  
  04/17 Reported out of Committee with Do Pass Recommendation, Filed for Second Reading  
  04/20 Read second time; Filed for Third Reading  
  04/22 Read Third Time in Full – PASSED - 50-18-2
AYES – Anderson, Andrus, Barrett, Bayer, Bedke, Bell, Bilbao, Black, Block, Bolz, Boyle, Chadderdon, Clark, Collins, Eskridge, Gibbs, Hagedorn, Hart, Hartgen, Harwood, Henderson, Jarvis, Kren, Labrador, Lake, Loertscher, Luker, Marriott, Mathews, McGeachin, Moyle, Nielsen, Nonini, Palmer, Pasley-Stuart, Patrick, Raybould, Roberts, Schaefer, Shepherd(08), Shirley, Simpson, Stevenson, Takasugi, Thayn, Thompson, Wills, Wood(27), Wood(35), Mr. Speaker
NAYS – Boe, Burgoyne, Chavez, Chew, Cronin, Durst, Higgins, Jaquet, Killen, King, Pence, Ringo, Ruchti, Rusche, Sayler, Shepherd(02), Smith(30), Trail
Absent and excused – Crane, Smith(24)
Floor Sponsor - Loertscher
Title apvd - to Senate
  Returned From House Passed; referred to enrolling  
  04/23 Reported enrolled; signed by President; to House for signature of Speaker  
  04/24 Received from Senate; Signed by Speaker; Returned to Senate  
  04/27 Reported signed by the Speaker & ordered delivered to Governor  
  04/28 Reported delivered to Governor at 1:45 p.m. on 04/27/09  
  04/30 Signed by Governor on 04/30/09
    Session Law Chapter 252
    Effective: 07/01/2009