Print Friendly

     Idaho Statutes

Idaho Statutes are updated to the website July 1 following the legislative session.


25-2612.  Animal damage control districts. (1) There are hereby established five (5) animal damage control districts in the state of Idaho.
(a)  Animal damage control district number 1 shall consist of the counties of Benewah, Bonner, Boundary, Clearwater, Idaho, Kootenai, Latah, Lewis, Nez Perce and Shoshone.
(b)  Animal damage control district number 2 shall consist of the counties of Ada, Adams, Boise, Canyon, Elmore, Gem, Owyhee, Payette, Valley and Washington.
(c)  Animal damage control district number 3 shall consist of the counties of Blaine, Camas, Cassia, Gooding, Jerome, Lincoln, Minidoka and Twin Falls.
(d)  Animal damage control district number 4 shall consist of the counties of Bannock, Bear Lake, Bingham, Caribou, Franklin, Oneida and Power.
(e)  Animal damage control district number 5 shall consist of the counties of Bonneville, Butte, Clark, Custer, Fremont, Jefferson, Lemhi, Madison and Teton.
(2)  A board of directors for each animal damage control district is hereby created. The board of directors of an animal damage control district shall consist of one (1) director appointed by the board of county commissioners from each of the participating counties within the district. Nomination for directors shall be made to the county commissioners by livestock and agriculturally oriented groups which have a vested and economic interest in the animal damage control program, and appointees must have a substantial vested and economic interest in the livestock or other agricultural industry. The length of term shall be two (2) years. A director shall receive such compensation as may be fixed by order of the district animal damage control board, and shall be entitled to expense reimbursement in the same manner as a county employee; compensation and expense reimbursement shall be made from the moneys available to the district animal damage control board.
(3)  The board of directors shall meet at least annually. Such meeting shall be called at the direction of the chairman of the board or by a majority of the directors in that district. At said annual meeting, the board of directors shall organize by electing from amongst its members a chairman, a vice chairman, and such other officers as may be necessary. They shall also establish operating rules for the board and approve annual work plans for the animal damage control programs. After the annual meeting, the board of directors shall meet at such times and places as are required by the board’s rules.
(4)  The board of directors shall have authority to receive and disperse funds from any source for the purpose of controlling predatory animal and other vertebrate pest damage in the district. Any moneys received by the board shall be maintained on deposit in a bank or trust company designated as a state depository, and may be dispersed from such account only over the signature of at least two (2) members of the board.
(5)  All contracts and agreements between the board of directors and any agency, unit of government, association, organization or private party shall be reduced to writing, and shall be maintained as a part of the official records of the board.

[(25-2612) 1985, ch. 63, sec. 12, p. 133; 25-2629 redesignated 25-2612, 1989, ch. 210, sec. 12, p. 518.]

How current is this law?