Idaho Statutes
pecnv.out

TITLE 44
LABOR
CHAPTER 13
CHILD LABOR LAW
44-1306.  Prohibition against theatrical employment of children — Penalty — Exception. Any person, whether as parent, relative, guardian, employer or otherwise, having the care, custody or control of any child under the age of sixteen (16) years, who exhibits, uses or employs in any manner or under any pretense, sells, apprentices, gives away, lets out or disposes of such child to any person, under any name, title or pretense, for or in any business, exhibition or vocation, injurious to the health or dangerous to the life or limb of such child, or in or for the vocation, occupation, service or purpose of singing, playing on musical instruments, rope or wire walking, dancing, begging or peddling, or as a gymnast, acrobat, or contortionist, or rider, or in any place whatsoever, or for any obscene, indecent or immoral purposes, exhibition or practice whatsoever, or for or in any mendicant, or wandering business whatsoever, or who causes, procures or encourages such child to engage therein, is guilty of a misdemeanor, and punishable by a fine of not less than fifty dollars ($50.00) nor more than $250, or by imprisonment in the county jail for a term not exceeding six (6) months or by both such fine and imprisonment. Every person who takes, receives, hires, employs, uses, exhibits, or has in custody any child under the age [of sixteen (16) years] and for any of the purposes mentioned in this section is guilty of a like offense and punishable by like imprisonment. Nothing in this section contained applies to or affects the employment or use of any such child as a singer or musician in any church, school or academy, or the teaching or learning of the science or practice of music.

History:
[(44-1306) 1907, p. 248, sec. 6; reen. R.C., sec. 1471; reen. 1911, ch. 159, sec. 171, p. 483; reen. C.L. 38:285; C.S., sec. 1029; I.C.A., sec. 43-806.]


How current is this law?

Search the Idaho Statutes and Constitution