MOTOR VEHICLE REGISTRATION
49-420Q. pet friendly license plates. (1) Any person who is the owner of a vehicle registered under the provisions of section 49-402, Idaho Code, or registered under any other section of law for which the purchase of special plates is allowed may apply for and, upon department approval, receive pet friendly license plates in lieu of regular license plates. The provisions of this section shall not apply to any vehicle with a registered maximum gross weight over twenty-six thousand (26,000) pounds. Availability of pet friendly license plates for other vehicles shall be subject to the rules, policies, and procedures of the department.
(2) In addition to the regular registration fee required in this chapter, the applicant shall be charged a fee of thirty-five dollars ($35.00) for the initial issuance of plates, and twenty-five dollars ($25.00) upon each succeeding annual registration. Thirteen dollars ($13.00) of the initial fee and thirteen dollars ($13.00) of the renewal fee shall be deposited in the state highway account and shall be used to fund the cost of administration of this special license plate program. Twenty-two dollars ($22.00) of each initial fee and twelve dollars ($12.00) of each renewal fee shall be deposited in the Idaho humane society’s pet lovers fund and used in accordance with the provisions of subsection (5) of this section.
(3) Whenever title or interest in a vehicle registered under the provisions of this section is transferred or assigned, the owner may transfer the special plates to another vehicle upon payment of the required transfer fees. The owner may display the plates on another vehicle only upon receipt of the new registration from the department.
(4) The pet friendly license plate shall be of a color and design in accordance with the provisions of section 49-402C, Idaho Code. The design and any slogan on the plate shall be acceptable to the Idaho humane society and shall be approved by the Idaho transportation department utilizing a numbering system as determined by the department. Initial costs of the plate program, including costs of plate design, shall be paid by the Idaho humane society.
(5) Sample pet friendly license plates may be purchased for a fee of thirty dollars ($30.00), thirteen dollars ($13.00) of which shall be deposited in the state highway account and seventeen dollars ($17.00) of which shall be deposited in the Idaho humane society’s pet lovers fund. A committee of five (5) members shall be appointed by the board of directors of the Idaho humane society to designate recipients of disbursements from the fund. The committee members shall serve two (2) year terms and shall include one (1) licensed Idaho veterinarian, one (1) certified veterinarian technician, and three (3) representatives of the rescue, sheltering, and animal welfare community unaffiliated with the Idaho humane society. Subsequent appointments to the committee shall be made by the committee. The committee shall meet once per year to designate recipients of moneys from the Idaho humane society’s pet lovers fund, which recipients may include Idaho licensed veterinarians, Idaho animal shelters, or Idaho nonprofit organizations. At the direction of the committee, moneys in the fund shall be disbursed to recipients designated by the committee and used to provide assistance with veterinary services, prioritizing canine and feline spay and neuter services, to low-income residents of Idaho. The Idaho humane society, the committee members, and any organization represented by a serving committee member shall be ineligible to receive disbursements from the fund.
[49-420Q, added 2019, ch. 89, sec. 2, p. 219.]