AGRICULTURE AND HORTICULTURE
NURSERIES AND FLORISTS
22-2305. License required — Schedule of fees. (1) It shall be unlawful for any person to engage in, conduct, or carry on the business of propagating, growing, selling, dealing in, or importing into this state, for sale or distribution, any nursery or florist stock, or to engage in landscape designing, or to act as agent, salesman, or solicitor for any nurseryman, florist, landscape contractor, or dealer in nursery or florist stock without first obtaining a license to do so from the Idaho department of agriculture, and it shall be unlawful for any person to falsely represent that he is the agent, salesman, solicitor, or representative of any nurseryman, florist, landscape contractor, or dealer in nursery or florist stock.
(2) The provisions of this chapter shall not apply to the sale of plants, shrubs, scions, or florist stock by any person not regularly engaged in that business when said sales are only incident to the seller’s farming or gardening operations and the total amount of gross annual sales by such seller does not exceed five hundred dollars ($500). The department shall have the authority to inspect any nursery or florist stock in the possession of any person exempted by this subsection, when it has reason to believe that there may be a pest concern or quarantine violation.
(3) Every nurseryman or florist, landscape contractor, dealer, or importer of nursery or florist stock, or collector of native plants for sale shall make application for a license to the Idaho department of agriculture upon a form to be prescribed and furnished by said department, pay to said department the license fee as provided in subsection (4) of this section. No license shall be issued until the applicant shall have paid the fee hereinafter provided.
(4) Nurseries required to be licensed shall consist of nurserymen, florists, dealers, landscape contractors, and importers of nursery or florist stock, and collectors of native plants for sale, and they shall pay a license fee of one hundred dollars ($100) for their principal place of business. Nurseries with more than one (1) retail outlet shall identify the number and location of such additional outlets on the license application and pay an additional one hundred dollars ($100) for each such additional outlet. The license number shall be prominently displayed in each outlet. Should the holder of a nursery license add one (1) or more outlets during the license year, the department must be notified and the one hundred dollar ($100) surcharge for each such outlet paid immediately.
(5) Dealers shall keep accurate records of their sales and transactions involving nursery or florist stock and shall produce the same at any time when so required by the Idaho department of agriculture. At any hearing in which the amount of license fee to be paid by any person is involved or any questions as to such person’s claim for exemption from the provisions of this chapter, such person shall have the burden of proof to establish his claim.
(6) A license fee for an agent as defined in section 22-2302, Idaho Code, is twenty-five dollars ($25.00) per annum for each principal that the agent represents. Agents soliciting sales only from persons licensed under this chapter shall be exempt from licensing fees.
(7) The fees for nursery or florist stock inspection and special services performed for persons not required to be licensed shall be as provided in rules promulgated by the director.
[(22-2305) added 1984, ch. 231, sec. 2, p. 556; am. and redesig. 1998, ch. 89, sec. 5, p. 308; am. 1999, ch. 83, sec. 1, p. 279; am. 2008, ch. 130, sec. 1, p. 364.]