Idaho Statutes
pecnv.out

TITLE 39
HEALTH AND SAFETY
CHAPTER 2
VITAL STATISTICS
39-273.  Penalties. (a) The following acts, if committed unlawfully, purposely and with the intent to deceive, shall be felonies punishable by a fine of not more than five thousand dollars ($5,000) or imprisonment of not more than five (5) years, or both:
(1)  furnishing false or fraudulent information affecting any certificate, record or report required by this chapter; or
(2)  making, counterfeiting, altering, amending or mutilating of any certificate, record or report, or any certified copy of a certificate, record, or report authorized by this chapter; or
(3)  obtaining, possessing, using, selling, or furnishing, or attempting to obtain, possess, use, sell, or furnish, any certificate, record, or report, or certified copy of a certificate, record, or report, which has been unlawfully made, counterfeited, altered, amended, or mutilated; or
(4)  furnishing, selling or using any certificate, record or report, or any certified copy of a certificate, record or report, authorized by this chapter for the purpose of misrepresenting the age or identity of a person or misrepresenting the facts relating to a birth, death or adoption.
(b)  The following acts, if committed with knowledge, recklessness or with criminal negligence, shall be misdemeanors punishable by a fine of not more than one thousand dollars ($1,000) or imprisonment of not more than one (1) year, or both:
(1)  except where a different penalty is provided by this section, violating any of the provisions of this chapter or the regulations promulgated pursuant to this chapter by the board; or
(2)  neglecting or refusing to perform any of the duties imposed pursuant to this chapter; or
(3)  transporting, accepting for transport, interring, or otherwise disposing of a dead body or stillborn fetus without a permit or other authorization issued in accordance with the provisions of this chapter.
(c)  In addition to the other penalties herein prescribed, any employee or officer of the department who knowingly, recklessly or negligently discloses any information in violation of section 39-270, Idaho Code, shall be subject to immediate dismissal from employment.
(d)  In addition to any other sanction or penalty authorized by law, the registrar may hereby impose a fine which may not exceed two hundred fifty dollars ($250) for each violation wherein a physician, hospital administrator or his designee, or other birth attendants, or coroner/deputy, or funeral director/mortician fails to sign a birth, or death or stillbirth certificate within fifteen (15) days of the death or within fifteen (15) days of the birth. Notice of intent to impose such fine must be given by the registrar to the alleged violator. Each day that a violation continues following the giving of the notice of intent may constitute a violation and the registrar may impose a fine which may not exceed fifty dollars ($50.00) per day. In determining the amount of any fine to be imposed for a violation, the registrar shall consider the following factors:
(1)  the gravity of the violation or extent to which the provisions of the applicable statute or rule were violated;
(2)  any action taken by the alleged violator to correct the violation or assure that the violation will not reoccur;
(3)  any previous violation.

History:
[(39-273) 1949, ch. 72, sec. 26, p. 117; am. and redesignated 1983, ch. 7, sec. 35, p. 42; am. 1994, ch. 323, sec. 1, p. 1037.]


How current is this law?

Search the Idaho Statutes and Constitution