Idaho Statutes

Idaho Statutes are updated to the web July 1 following the legislative session.

pecnv.out

TITLE 48
MONOPOLIES AND TRADE PRACTICES
CHAPTER 3
IDAHO PATIENT ACT
48-311.  enforcement and civil penalties. If any party takes any extraordinary collection action other than in accordance with section 48-304 or 48-306, Idaho Code, then:
(1)  Notwithstanding any provision of law or agreement to the contrary, a patient shall have no liability to any party for any collection costs, expenses, and fees, including attorney’s fees and prejudgment and postjudgment interest;
(2)  The party is liable to the patient in an amount equal to any actual damages sustained by the patient as a result of any failure to comply, or one thousand dollars ($1,000), whichever is greater; and
(3)  Where a court finds a party has willfully or knowingly violated section 48-304 or 48-306, Idaho Code, the court may award up to three (3) times the amount of actual damages, or three thousand dollars ($3,000), whichever is greater. In any successful action to enforce the liability set forth in this section, the patient shall be entitled to the costs of the action, together with reasonable attorney’s fees, as determined by the court.

History:
[48-311, added 2020, ch. 139, sec. 1, p. 430.]


How current is this law?

Search the Idaho Statutes and Constitution