Idaho Statutes
pecnv.out

TITLE 49
MOTOR VEHICLES
CHAPTER 10
WEIGHT, SPEED AND TIRE REGULATIONS
49-1013.  Penalties for violations. (1) It shall be unlawful and constitute a misdemeanor for any person to violate any of the provisions of this chapter, except that violations of law as specified in paragraphs (a), (b) and (c) of subsection (3) of this section shall constitute an infraction.
(2)  Persons convicted of violations of the provisions of sections 49-434A, 49-1003 and 49-1006 through 49-1012, Idaho Code, shall be subject to punishment by a fine of not to exceed three hundred dollars ($300) or by imprisonment in the county jail for not more than thirty (30) days or by a combination of such fine and imprisonment.
(3)  Persons convicted of violations of the provisions of sections 49-438, 49-1001, 49-1002, 49-1004 and 49-1005, Idaho Code, shall be subject to a penalty as prescribed herein:
(a)  One (1) pound through one thousand (1,000) pounds overweight shall be five dollars ($5.00) and shall constitute an infraction.
(b)  One thousand one (1,001) pounds through two thousand (2,000) pounds overweight shall be fifteen dollars ($15.00) and shall constitute an infraction.
(c)  Two thousand one (2,001) pounds through four thousand (4,000) pounds overweight shall be twenty-five dollars ($25.00) and shall constitute an infraction.
(d)  Four thousand one (4,001) pounds through fifteen thousand (15,000) pounds overweight shall be twenty-five dollars ($25.00) plus $.1341 per pound for each additional pound over four thousand (4,000) pounds overweight.
(e)  Fifteen thousand one (15,001) pounds through twenty thousand (20,000) pounds overweight shall be one thousand five hundred dollars ($1,500) plus twenty cents ($.20) per pound for each additional pound over fifteen thousand (15,000) pounds overweight.
(f)  Twenty thousand one (20,001) pounds and greater shall be two thousand five hundred dollars ($2,500) plus thirty cents ($.30) per pound for each additional pound over twenty thousand (20,000) pounds overweight.
(g)  In addition to the penalties specified in this subsection, one hundred fifty dollars ($150) for failure to deploy a variable load suspension axle which results in adjacent axles exceeding allowable weight by two thousand one (2,001) pounds or more.
(4)  Persons convicted of an infraction or misdemeanor for violating two (2) or more of the provisions of section 49-1001, 49-1002 or 49-1004, Idaho Code, at any one (1) time shall be assessed the full amount of the penalty for the primary violation. In addition to the assessment of the penalty for the primary violation, the person convicted of an infraction or misdemeanor shall be assessed a penalty of ten dollars ($10.00) for each additional misdemeanor conviction or five dollars ($5.00) for each additional infraction for violations of section 49-1001, 49-1002 or 49-1004, Idaho Code, committed at the same time.
(5)  All moneys collected as a result of the penalties prescribed in subsections (3) and (4) of this section, shall be deposited into the highway distribution account.

History:
[49-1013, added 1988, ch. 265, sec. 284, p. 724; am. 1991, ch. 226, sec. 3, p. 544; am. 1995, ch. 122, sec. 4, p. 538; am. 1997, ch. 135, sec. 1, p. 403; am. 1998, ch. 266, sec. 1, p. 877; am. 2000, ch. 101, sec. 3, p. 225; am. 2005, ch. 182, sec. 2, p. 557.]


How current is this law?

Search the Idaho Statutes and Constitution