Idaho Statutes

Idaho Statutes are updated to the web July 1 following the legislative session.


63-3024.  Individuals’ tax and tax on estates and trusts. For each taxable year, a tax measured by Idaho taxable income as defined in this chapter is hereby imposed upon every individual, trust, or estate required by this chapter to file a return.
(a)  The tax imposed upon individuals, trusts and estates shall be computed at the following rates:
When Idaho taxable income is:
The rate is:
Less than $1,000
One percent (1%)
$1,000 but less than $3,000
$10.00, plus three percent (3%) of the amount over $1,000
$3,000 but less than $5,000
$70.00, plus four and five-tenths percent (4.5%) of the amount over $3,000
$5,000 and over
$160, plus six percent (6%) of the amount over $5,000
For taxable year 2000 and each year thereafter, the state tax commission shall prescribe a factor that shall be used to compute the Idaho income tax brackets provided in this section. The factor shall provide an adjustment to the Idaho tax brackets so that inflation will not result in a tax increase. The Idaho tax brackets shall be adjusted as follows: multiply the bracket amounts by the percentage (the consumer price index for the calendar year immediately preceding the calendar year to which the adjusted brackets will apply divided by the consumer price index for calendar year 1998). For the purpose of this computation, the consumer price index for any calendar year is the average of the consumer price index as of the close of the twelve (12) month period for the immediately preceding calendar year, without regard to any subsequent adjustments, as adopted by the state tax commission. This adoption shall be exempt from the provisions of chapter 52, title 67, Idaho Code. The consumer price index shall mean the consumer price index for all U.S. urban consumers published by the United States department of labor. The state tax commission shall annually include the factor as provided in this subsection to multiply against Idaho taxable income using the brackets in this section to arrive at that year’s Idaho taxable income for tax bracket purposes.
(b)  In case a joint return is filed by husband and wife pursuant to the provisions of section 63-3031, Idaho Code, the tax imposed by this section shall be twice the tax that would be imposed on one-half (1/2) of the aggregate Idaho taxable income. For the purposes of this section, a return of a surviving spouse, as defined in section 2(a) of the Internal Revenue Code, and a head of household, as defined in section 2(b) of the Internal Revenue Code, shall be treated as a joint return and the tax imposed shall be twice the tax that would be imposed on one-half (1/2) of the Idaho taxable income.
(c)  In the case of a trust that is an electing small business trust as defined in section 1361 of the Internal Revenue Code, the special rules for taxation of such trusts contained in section 641 of the Internal Revenue Code shall apply except that the maximum individual rate provided in this section shall apply in computing tax due under this chapter.
(d)  The state tax commission shall compute and publish Idaho income tax liability for taxpayers at the midpoint of each bracket of Idaho taxable income in fifty-dollar ($50.00) steps to fifty thousand dollars ($50,000), rounding such calculations to the nearest dollar. Taxpayers having income within such brackets shall file returns based upon and pay taxes according to the schedule thus established. The state tax commission shall promulgate rules defining the conditions upon which such returns shall be filed.

[63-3024, added 1959, ch. 299, sec. 24, p. 613; am. 1963, ch. 425, sec. 1, p. 1104; am. 1965, ch. 195, sec. 39, p. 408; am. 1967, ch. 294, sec. 4, p. 828; am. 1968 (2nd E.S.), ch. 27, sec. 1, p. 51; am. 1969, ch. 319, sec. 8, p. 982; am. 1969, ch. 456, sec. 1, p. 1262; am. 1971, ch. 302, sec. 2, p. 1242; am. 1972, ch. 398, sec. 4, p. 1149; am. 1973, ch. 326, sec. 1, p. 690; am. 1974, ch. 303, sec. 1, p. 1782; am. 1975, ch. 138, sec. 1, p. 309; am. 1975, ch. 170, sec. 1, p. 460; am. 1976, ch. 1, sec. 2, p. 3; am. 1976, ch. 76, sec. 1, p. 247; am. 1986, ch. 90, sec. 3, p. 267; am. 1987, ch. 93, sec. 3, p. 181; am. 1987, ch. 342, sec. 1, p. 726; am. 1992, ch. 11, sec. 4, p. 23; am. 1995, ch. 111, sec. 19, p. 361; am. 2000, ch. 479, sec. 2, p. 1652; am. 2001, ch. 386, sec. 1, p. 1349; am. 2002, ch. 35, sec. 6, p. 71; am. 2003, ch. 10, sec. 3, p. 25; am. 2006, ch. 195, sec. 1, p. 599; am. 2012, ch. 321, sec. 1, p. 879; am. 2018, ch. 46, sec. 4, p. 115; am. 2021, ch. 342, sec. 1, p. 1039; am. 2022, ch. 1, sec. 1, p. 3.]

How current is this law?

Search the Idaho Statutes and Constitution