Idaho Statutes

Idaho Statutes are updated to the web July 1 following the legislative session.

pecnv.out

TITLE 67
STATE GOVERNMENT AND STATE AFFAIRS
CHAPTER 74
IDAHO STATE LOTTERY
67-7448.  Prohibited acts — Penalties. (1) Any person may provide gift tickets or shares. With the approval of the commission, the director or a lottery retailer may provide gift tickets for promotional purposes which are approved by the commission. A ticket or share shall not be sold at a price greater than that fixed by the state lottery, and a sale shall not be made other than by a lottery game retailer or by an employee of a lottery game retailer who is authorized by the license to sell tickets.
A person may not sell a lottery ticket or share to any person under the age of eighteen (18) years. A minor may not purchase lottery tickets or shares and may not redeem winning tickets or shares.
A lottery retailer may not willfully withhold funds due and owing to the state lottery. A person may not impersonate a state lottery representative.
Any person violating any of the provisions of this chapter except as provided in subsection (2) of this section shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and upon conviction be fined up to five thousand dollars ($5,000) or imprisoned up to six (6) months or be both so fined and imprisoned.
(2)  A person shall be guilty of a felony if he knowingly presents a counterfeit, previously paid, illegally obtained or altered state lottery ticket or share for payment or knowingly transfers a counterfeit, previously paid, illegally obtained or altered state lottery ticket or share to another person for presentation for payment or with intent to defraud, falsely make, alter, forge, pass or counterfeit a lottery ticket or share. A person violating the provisions of this subsection shall be punished by imprisonment not in excess of five (5) years, a fine not in excess of twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000) or both such fine and imprisonment.
(3)  Determination of loss. The value of a loss involving the theft of lottery tickets shall be the face value of the tickets plus the redemption value as defined in section 67-7404, Idaho Code.

History:
[67-7448, added 1988, ch. 232, sec. 2, p. 460; am. 1989, ch. 352, sec. 28, p. 893; am. 2001, ch. 196, sec. 3, p. 665.]


How current is this law?

Search the Idaho Statutes and Constitution